KCU faculty and alumni inducted into the ACOFP Conclave of Fellows

Kansas City University (KCU) alumni and faculty continue to achieve excellence in the field of osteopathic medicine. The American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP) Conclave of Fellows honored alumnae Elly Riley, DO (COM ’09) and Ana Hayden, DO, (COM ’88) as well as KCU faculty member Jared Nichols, DO, associate professor of OMM, with the designation of Fellow during its 61st Annual Convention & Scientific Seminars that took place in New Orleans April 4-7. Dr. Nichols was sponsored by KCU alumnus Chris Paynter, DO (COM ’12) and Dr. Riley was sponsored by Gautam J. Desai, DO, FACOFP dist., KCU chair of Primary Care.

The designation of Fellow is bestowed upon candidates who have contributed outstanding national and local service through teaching, authorship, research or professional leadership. Additionally, these individuals have demonstrated a commitment to the health and welfare of their patients and to the future of osteopathic family medicine.

“Receiving distinction as an ACOFP Fellow signifies the experience and contributions these physicians have made to the advancement of family medicine. We are proud of their dedication to the field and their commitment to KCU’s mission of improving the well-being of the communities we serve,” said W. Joshua Cox, DO, FACOFP, executive dean of the College of Osteopathic Medicine and vice provost for medical affairs.

Founded in 1950, ACOFP is a community of more than 26,000 current and future family physicians that champions osteopathic principles and supports its members by providing resources such as education, networking and advocacy while putting patients first. ACOFP empowers its members with education and resources that allow them to adapt to new models of care and rapidly changing government policy.

To learn more about ACOFP’s Conclave of Fellows, click here